Withdrawal Agreement Bill Vote Breakdown

December 21, 2020 at 5:24 pm

Some Labour MPs have written on Twitter about why they decided to abstain in this afternoon`s vote. Sharon Hodgson, MP for Washington and Sunderland West, said she had always said she would not vote for a form of Brexit that would hurt the people she represents, but she understood that her constituents wanted Britain to leave the EU. It was the first time MPs had voted for one of the Brexit laws in the House of Commons. The majority of MSPs voted for the decision time 95, 25 against, 1 abstained. Chris Evans (Labour Party – Islwyn) (proxy voice of Mark Tami) A Downing Street spokesman said the Prime Minister had only accepted ongoing discussions, and Davis` Brexit department issued a statement saying: “We do not and will not agree that the House of Commons is tying the hands of the government in the negotiations.” [49] Conservative MP Andrew Bridgen accused the Conservatives of supporting Grieve`s amendment to the Brexit Act for trying to liberalise the UK`s exit from the EU. [51] At third reading, MEPs voted in favour of the European Union by 330 votes to 231, by a majority of 99 votes (withdrawal agreement). Immediately afterwards, opposition leader Jeremy Corbyn called for a vote of no confidence in the government, which took place on 16 January 2019. The government won by 325 votes to 306, a majority of 19. [81] This is the BBC political correspondent Iain Watson. He says up to 30 Labour MPs abstained from voting on the Brexit bill this afternoon or did not abstain. At the end of the debate, the government assured potential Conservative rebels that they would raise their concerns in a new amendment that the Lords should consider. The concession proposed by ministers is also expected to introduce a new parliamentary motion if the Brexit deal is rejected by MPs and colleagues[3] that would open the door for MPs to take control of the negotiations if ministers fail to reach an agreement in Brussels.

[45] The concession meant that the government had obtained 324 votes to 298, a majority of 26 votes. [3] [46] Neil Gray (Scottish National Party – Airdrie and Shotts) On 23 October, the House of Commons debated three technical provisions concerning the UK`s withdrawal from the EU. The legislative debate focused on the repeal of certain technical provisions enshrined in British law with regard to the EU. If these three acts were to be voted on, they would only come into force if the UK finally left the EU. The three points discussed related to changes to existing UK legislation to remove 1) THE EU`s free movement provisions[151][152] [152] 2) the UK`s regulatory oversight by third countries[153] 3) regarding EU-codified financial services. [154] All three amendments were put to a divisive vote and all three passed the vote in the House of Commons. [155] [156] [157] Our history of the passage of the Withdrawal Treaty Act is to be read here at second reading.